Grammar.

Kelsey_Grammer.jpgThe English language when written can sometimes be tricky:

  1. There, their, they’re.
  2. Peak, pique, peek.
  3. You’re, your.
  4. Tear, tear.
  5. Loose, lose.
  6. It is, it’s, its.
  7. I’m, I am.
  8. Which, witch.
  9. Right, write.
  10. Affect, effect.
  11. To, too, two.
  12. Apostrophes. Where do they go? Tricky blighters them.
  13. I can never remember when to use a colon (:)  vs a semi-colon (;). I had it explained to me once, well actually more than once but still can’t remember when to use the right one. I have to Google it everytime; well not everytime, as I usually can’t be bothered. I’m too busy writing.

And, I also remember being told that using “And” at the beginning of a sentence is a definite no, no. So I won’t do that then. I have no intention of trying to understand adverbs, pro-nouns or complicit connections.

I’m not an expert on the use of grammar or spelling for that matter, but I do have the ability to “see” if something doesn’t look right. Not always, but the majority of the time. If it doesn’t “look” right, then I’ll check it. There’s probably a fancy scientific name for this condition, but I don’t know what it’s called.

There are loads of other things to think about – far too many to list here but at the end of the day, writers shouldn’t let this slow them down, or stop them writing.

Right first and sort out the grammer and spelling out at a later date. That’s the best way too go.

One thought on “Grammar.

Leave a Reply

