Leonard Cohen.

Act the way you’d like to be and soon you’ll be the way you act.”

Grim-Reaper-Wall-Decal.jpgI’ve mentioned death before, but 2016 has been a year for a high number of deaths of well known people. I don’t know if 2016 has experienced more than average but it certainly seems like it. The Daily Mirror have had a stab at trying to explain why.

There’s no getting away from it we all have a 100% chance of dying. That’s one in one; not very good odds of avoiding it. It will happen to both you and me. Most of us will have no idea when this will happen, but happen it will.

Yesterday one of the world’s most revered poet/songwriter/musician’s died. Leonard Cohen has left us a legacy of work that will be always remembered, and more importantly discussed and quoted for time immorium. Like many other feted writers his work will always be there, available for us to pore over when searching for some inspiration or for words of comfort or maybe because we just wish to be in a melancholic mood.

It’s at times like this that some people will crawl out of the woodwork and hail the almighty Cohen and spout off about how they loved his work blah bla blah, when the reality is they have little idea of who he was or what he’s achieved. The online equivalent of hearse chasers.

I wasn’t particularly a fan. Sure I liked and knew of the obvious songs, “Hallelujah”, “Bird on a Wire”, “Suzanne” “So Long Marianne” et al, but anyone with an interest in music knows of those songs. I wanted to like his stuff, and I tried many times to over the years, but it never occurred to me to go to one of his gigs. Too morose for my liking. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t respect what he’d achieved.

As I write this I’m listening to Cohen’s album “Live in Dublin” which I’ve listened to on a cursory basis on a number of occasions in the past and it’s now dawning on me what I’ve missed out on: my bad.

But like all writers – good and bad – thankfully his prose (and music) will always be available.

And tomorrow I shall be wearing my Fedora as my small tribute to him. And on Sunday obviously I shall play a couple of his tunes on my radio show.

Leave a Reply

